Home Sweet Home

A wise man said to me last year “Are you having fun? Because that’s all that matters… Soon it will all just be a distant memory”.

This quote has stuck with me ever since. While in many ways I am sad to say that my time in France is now a memory, I am also very happy to be on American soil with the ones I love. There really isn’t a way to fully describe my experience but just know, I had the time of my life!

I discovered this song on the radio while driving around yesterday. It’s perfect so I have to share. It’s amazing how many new songs you hear when you don’t listen to the radio for over 2 months!

 

4,286 miles from home

2,233 pictures taken

482 times someone spoke French to me and I felt absolutely stranded on how to communicate with them (ok, this is a made up number but seriously there is nothing that makes you feel more hopeless)

58 days spent abroad

55 pounds of luggage to bring back home

48 students in the Purpan summer program

21 years of life under my belt now

15 Boilermakers who participated in the program (largest number from one university)

8 Skype calls to America while gone

7 flights to get me to and from France

5 voicemails on my phone when I finally got to turn in off of airplane mode after 2 months

4 wonderful family members to greet me at the airport when I got home at 11pm

2 surprise visits upon my homecoming

Countless: The amount of fun I had during this experience abroad

Showing off our new free hats we got in Paris to our family!
Showing off our new free hats we got in Paris to our family!
It's never felt so good to see Indianapolis and of course my family
It’s never felt so good to see Indianapolis
There's no place like home
There’s no place like home
Leave a Reply

